Greyscale?

By Camillo Licata

The other night, I had the privilege of being present for a fairly interesting conversation. I was playing games with two of my friends, who we’ll call B and R, and we were in a skype call. The subject of police officers came up, I don’t remember specifically how. At this point I feel like it’s worth noting that B is a white male, and R is a black male. Both of these fine fellows live in the city, albeit different parts. R started telling the story of his interaction with the police. I went silent.
“The one interaction I had with police was when I was in high school. It was Martin Luther King Day, and that’s important, because even though it was a weekday, we had off, so Truancy couldn’t say nothin'” R says
“Truancy? What’s that?” B asks.truancy-officer
“It’s like, when the cops bust you for being out of school. They detain you and let the school know you’re out and about” R answers
“I mean, I know what it means, but does that s*** actually happen? I’ve never heard of that happening”
“Yeah” R replies simply, “It does. But anyways, me and my friends, M, and K, are coming back from Game Stop, and it’s our day off, so this is totally normal. And K makes eye contact with an officer across the street. I look at him and I ask ‘K man, why are you lookin’ at him?’ to which K replies ‘I dunno man, he looked at me, so I looked at him and now I can’t look away, because I look suspicious as hell.’ And I don’t appreciate that making eye contact with a cop makes us three suspect, but it does, so now I’m mad at K. Sure enough, the officer he made eye contact with, who is clearly in charge of the two guys he’s with, beckons his buddies across the street”
“No f****n way” B interjects. R continues without missing a beat.
“The cops get up to us and all polite ask ‘Hey boys, what are you doing out here today?’ I’m standing in the middle, so that somehow makes me in charge, so I tell him ‘we’re heading home, we just went to Game Stop,’ and M had the Game Stop bag in his pocket with the receipt to prove it. He asks us where we live, how we’re getting there, what bus we’re taking, and I tell him. Then he lays it on us, that APPARENTLY someone has been robbed, by three guys who HAPPEN to match our specific description. ‘You boys wouldn’t mind if we did a quick search would you?’ Like, Really now? And of course I can’t say that this guy’s clearly profiling us, and making up an incident just to frisk us, maybe hoping we turn him down, so we’re suspicious and he can take us in”
“Man, if I was in your situation, I wouldn’t take none of that” B says. “I’d just’ve told them, you don’t have any idea that we could’ve done anything, I’m not letting you search s***,” B says.
“But I can’t do that! I don’t know that there’s not a string of purse snatchings by guys who match our description, and I can’t know that unless I’m glued to the news every night, which no high schooler is.” R tells him.
“But you KNOW he’s making it up!” B objects, “it’s your right to just not consent to the search”
“But I can’t prove anything, and so I’m suspicious, and I could li-ter-al-ly die” R says, placing emphasis on each syllable of ‘literally.’

public-school-lineup-lNow this whole exchange is remarkable to me, because remember, these guys live in relatively close proximity. You’d think they’d have had similar experiences, but no. Not only had B never heard of someone getting detained for truancy, he could not believe the story of just making eye contact being cause for getting frisked, which R went on to describe in depth, and B repeatedly told us that he “wouldn’t have had any of it.” It’s interesting, because he’s right. That difference in situation, in experience and the resulting difference in perspective, and understanding is too huge. All because one of them is black, and the other is not.

But police and profiling is probably a story that most of us have heard before, isn’t it? Sad, but not new. So what does this have to do with anything Literary?

Well, it makes me think of Daniel Jose Older’s “Diversity is not Enough: Race, Power, Publishing”. He is a person of color, with an editor who is not a person of color, and he relates an experience that he’s seen, which the editor silences with “doesn’t happen in this day and age.” This is of course cause for outrage. Because Older wouldn’t have written it if he didn’t have good basis for the situation, but because the editor had never seen it, it must not happen. It’s not out of any malice that this line, this experience, was crossed out of Older’s work, just ignorance.

I am a writer. I am a white, non-binary, asexual writer, but that’s not what people see when asexual-flagthey look at me. They see a white, male, heterosexual writer. Statistically, the writing of the writer that they see, is among the most likely to get published, according to demographics. I have power. Power in the literary community.

I would like to use my power for good, and by that I mean, I would very much like to write interesting complex characters of color, female characters, gay characters, characters that are representative of the way the world actually is, not the way that the majority and the (perhaps unintentionally!) biased publishing companies want to filter it.

The problem is that I am more like B than R. I am not a person of color. I’ve never had any, not one, experience with a police officer. I’d never heard of someone actually being detained for truancy either. I just happen to believe it a little better than I think B did.

But because I have never had these experiences, I’m worried that my writing will come off the way that Older’s editor’s comment did: Ignorant. I don’t think that the responsibility of making all people equal in the literary world should fall to marginalized groups alone, I think  we with privilege should assist them.

Plain and simple, my point is that if we are trying to write a character that comes from a background that is unlike what we experienced, for example, if I was trying to write from R’s perspective,) we can never, EVER, say “that doesn’t happen in this day and age” because we need to remember that we don’t know that. Just because we haven’t seen it. The point is, you need to do your research, keep an open mind, and don’t fall back on your assumptions, because those are a reflection of your experience, which is no longer something you’re writing from.

4 thoughts on “Greyscale?

Add yours

  1. Hey Milo,

    I really love the personal anecdote. I think it speaks volumes to the point you made with the article we read by Older. I agree too that we shouldn’t judge based on gender, race, sexuality or anything for that matter. To further your post, maybe you could ask R and B to read the article. I’m curious as to how they’ll both react to it considering they had such different reactions to R’s story. I think it’d make for an interesting follow up.

    Best,
    Heather

    Like

  2. Wow Milo that’s a very powerful and sad and interesting and emotional story. It is sad that things like this are true in the world, and as much as we want to help, we don’t always know how. I think your title suits this piece, and I do appreciate that you didn’t go off directly about the idea of grayscale in it though. This connection I think emphasizes that this isn’t just a publishing problem, but one of society and beyond. Until society as a whole can change and learn how to be more understanding and more accepting and to see the truths as they are and not as we want them to be, I think we’ll still be facing these problems. (Just think of the coral reefs and global warming. 90% affected. Soon will be 90% dead. And how many people know this or why or truly understand that there is WEEKS, maybe limited MONTHS, but not years. – Sorry rant)

    Like

  3. I think that you do a great job of capturing a piece of the puzzle that is race relations in the United States. Those without the chains of oppression are always apt to speak on what they would and would not stand for. This is all not considering the overt signs of disparity between blacks and whites. I believe that if you wish to write from the viewpoint of a character who is non-white, you will have to come to terms with your work being put under a microscope, or your work being criticized. I would say that you should be mindful in how you write, taking care not to misinterpret the character who could be seen as representative of a group. Your voice carries far because of who you are.

    Like

  4. I really appreciate both this post and the following comments.

    Milo, you do a good job weaving together the anecdote of your friends, the discussion of the article, and your own questions about identity and writing. And the post is brave in its vulnerability, in acknowledging both what you can and cannot fully understand.

    Regarding what one can do as a writer that appears to fit the dominant mold… the first thing I’d encourage is reading widely. One writer I know spent a year *only* reading books by nonwhite writers. I’m not saying you have to do that, but sometimes the best thing a person can do is actively *listen* to the stories that others have to tell. And then amplify those stories, if you have a position of power that can let you do so. A few possibilities: book reviews, sharing quotes on social media, teaching books in classes, soliciting works from a wide range of writers for publication projects.

    In your own writing, you might look to someone like Adam Falkner as a model. He doesn’t try to take on the voice of other groups of people, but he acknowledges and explores his own whiteness. For further reading, I highly recommend Ta-nehisi Coates and Tim Wise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

